Nurse Aide Program
The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA 1987) required states to initiate and maintain Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Programs and a Nurse Aide Registry. This was designed to improve the quality of care in long-term health care facilities and to define training and evaluation standards for nurse aides who work in such facilities. Under the requirements of this Act, the Connecticut Department of Health is required to review, approve, deny, or suspend training programs as outlined in the Federal Code of Regulations (CFR Title 42, volume 3, part 483). The Department is also required to certify and list all individuals who complete a state approved training program and competency evaluation as well as list and maintain a registry of all individuals who are found to have abused or neglected elderly or vulnerable persons, or misappropriated their property.
Nurse Aide Training ProgramThis information will assist potential nurse aide students in locating and selecting a training and competency evaluation program. Nurse Aide Training Programs are approved for a 2-year period. During that 2-year approval time, programs are required to report any substantial changes to the Nurse Aide Program Manager in writing of the change. Substantial changes may include the following:
State of Connecticut requires that a nurse aide training program be at
least 100 hours in duration and be coordinated by a Registered Nurse with
at least 2 years experience, one of which must be in long term care.
Students must complete 16 hours in the following areas prior to any
direct contact with the residents:
training program must include all other basic theoretical components
defined by state and federal regulations, as well as a clinical component
where the students are trained on the 25 competency skills of which they
will be evaluated on five. For
successful passage of the competency evaluation, the student must pass all
five skills. For additional information regarding the Competency
The Department of Public Health at 860-509-7595.
The Division of Health Systems Regulation reviews and approves the certified nurse aide training programs throughout the state. Currently there are approximately 165 of these training programs approved by the Division of Health Systems Regulation.
Click here for all State of Connecticut approved Nurse Aide Training Programs.
Requirements for CertificationIn order to be certified on the Connecticut Nurse Aide Registry, an individual must have completed an approved nurse aide training program, and sit for the state competency examination within 24 months from completion of the class.
student enrolled in a LPN or RN program may request to challenge the test
by providing original transcripts of their education verifying they have
completed the basic nursing fundamentals and skills that are covered in a
nurse aide training program.
individual who is currently listed as active with no derogatory or abuse
information on another States’ list of certified individuals can apply
to have their name added to Connecticut’s Registry.
Certification period is for 24 months, and the individual must re-certify
every 2 years by providing verification that they have worked at least one
8- hour shift during that 24-month time frame.
If the certification expires and remains expired for a period
longer than 2 years, or the individual has not worked in a 24-month time
frame, the individual must retest in order to be listed in an active
status on the Registry.
Requirements for Initiating a CNA Program
Public Health Code of the State of Connecticut, Section
19-13-D8t (l)(1)(A) requires any organization electing to
conduct a nurse’s aide training program to submit for review and
approval a nurse’s aide training curriculum on forms provided by
the Department. A
standardized format has been developed by the Department of Public
Health. Any Private
Occupational School intending to provide a nurse’s aide training
program in accordance with the regulations noted above must complete
the forms enclosed with this letter and return them to this
Requirements for Primary Training Instructors
Home | Send Feedback